Local Governing Body

The Local Governing Body of Braithwaite School is a standing committee of the Good Shepherd Multi Academy Trust and, as such, shares the Trust's framework of Trust, Honesty, Empathy and Social Responsibility in order to deliver the best possible educational, spiritual and emotional outcomes for children, their families and the community.

The Department for Education expects all Local Governing Bodies in every school, no matter the size, to ensure effective governance through clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction; to be a critical friend to the Headteacher and senior management as well as overseeing the financial performance of the school and ensuring its money is well spent.

All members are subject to an Enhanced check through the Disclosure and Barring Service.

Braithwaite LGB consists of 10 members:- 6 foundation members who are recommended through the Parochial Church Council and appointed by the diocese; 2 parents; 1 staff member; 1 Headteacher.  Further members may be co-opted if there is a specific need.

There are 5 full Local Governing Body meetings during the school year.  The Pupil Progress and Curriculum Committee and the Finance, Buildings and Grounds Committee meet termly.  In addition, all LGB members make informal visits to the school as well as recorded visits for the purpose of  monitoring and evaluating the progress of the School Action Plan.

LGB members seek to be visible and approachable, ready to listen to pupils, their families, staff and the wider community in order to embrace and promote learning together and growing together.  If you wish to contact a member of the school's Local Governing Body please do so through the school office,

There is currently a vacancy for a parent member.  Please feel free to find out more by contacting the school.  Alternatively, any member of the LGB will be happy to talk with you informally about the role - no pressure!

or contact the school through the Contact page

Members of the Local Governing Body (LGB)

  • Jo Laker (Executive Head)
  • Michael Watmough (Foundation Member)
  • Pam Kemp (Foundation Member)
  • Kate Davis (Head of School (Staff Member))
  • Ann Smith (Co-opted member)
  • Sara Miller (Foundation member)
  • Fran Robson (Parent member)
  • Rev Andy Murphie (Foundation Member)