Braithwaite CE Primary School

Skip to main content
23rd January 18
Trail : home : Local Governing Body

Local Governing Body

New Chair of LGB : Adobe Acrobat file (172.6k)

Information on Local Governing Body


The Local Governing Body of Braithwaite School is a standing committee of the Good Shepherd Multi Academy Trust and, as such, shares the Trust's framework of Trust, Honesty, Empathy and Social Responsibility in order to deliver the best possible educational, spiirtual and emotional outcomes for children, their families and the community.

The Department for Education expects all Local Governing Bodies in every school, no matter the size, to ensure effective governance through clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction; to be a critical friend to the Headteacher and senior management as well as overseeing the financial performance of the school and ensuring its money is well spent.

All members are subject to an Enhanced Criminal Record check.

Braithwaite LGB consists of 10 members:- 5 foundation members who are recommended through the Parochial Church Council and appointed by the diocese; 2 parents; 1 staff member; 2 ex-officio members (including the Headteacher).  Further members may be co-opted if there is a specific need.

There are 5 full Local Governing Body meetings during the school year.  The Pupil Progress, Curriculum and Communications Committee and the Finance, Buildings and Grounds Committee meet termly.  In addition, all LGB members make informal  visiits to the school as well as recorded visits for the purpose of  monitoring and evaluating the progress of the School Action Plan.

LGB members seek to be visible and approachable, ready to listen to pupils, their families, staff and the wider community in order to embrace and promote living and learning together.  If you wish to contact a member of the school's Local Governing Body please do so through the school office,

 There is currently a vacancy for a Foundation Governor, who may or may not be a parent.  Please feel free to find out more by contacting Colin or Jo.  Alternatively, any member of the LGB will be happy to talk with you informally about the role - no pressure!





Dr Colin Ashurst, Foundation member (Chair of LGB)  Appointed chair in Nov 2017

Date appointed: 3.3.2017         Term of office ends 2.3.2021

Subcommittees: FBG

Declared interests: None        Attendance in 2016/17: 2/3


Jo Laker, Headteacher (Ex Officio)

Sub committees:- All

Declared interests: partner in husband's LLP, holiday let in Keswick    

Attendance in 2016/17: 5/5     


Rev Lucie Lunn, Ex Officio Foundation Member

Date appointed  31.1.2017           Term of office ends 30.1.2021 (or earlier if alternative appointment made by Archdeacon)

Sub committees:- PPC&C

Declared interests   None                   Attendance in 2016/17: 2/3    


Chris Lewis, Foundation Member

Date appointed 10.2.2016 (new term)  Term of office ends 9.2.2020

Sub committees:-  PPC&C

Declared interests   None                   Attendance in 2016/17 :  5/5    


Pam Kemp, Foundation Member

Date appointed   1.9.2016             Term of office ends   31.8.2020

Sub-committees:-  PPC&C (Chair), Staffing

Special roles: RE & Collective Worship

Declared interests   None                   Attendance in 2016/17  4/5


Wendy Scott, Foundation Member

Date appointed   29.1.2016  (new term)    Term of Office ends 28.1.2020

Sub-committees:-  PPC&C, Appraisal, Staffing

Special roles: responsibility for safeguarding, Early Years, SEN

Declared interests  None                 Attendance in 2016/17  3/5


Rachel Cowper, Staff member

Date appointed  1.9.2017                Term of office ends 31.8.2021

Sub committees:-  PPC&C

Declared interests    None                    Attendance in 2016/17: N/A


Graham Sumbler, Parent Member

Date appointed    9.2.2017                 Term of office ends 8.2.2021

Sub committees:-    FBG    

Declared interests    None                       Attendance in 2016/17  3/3


Neil Hamblin, Parent Member

Date appointed   24.3.2017               Term of office ends  23.3.2021

Sub committees  PPC&C

Declared interests    None                         Attendance in 2016/17  1/2 (+attended one prior to appointment as an observer)              


Clerk to the Local Governing Body: Jen Allason

Date appointed: 1.3.2016

Sub committees: PPC&C, FBG

Declared interests   None                           Attendance in 2016/17  5/5


The following members were part of the Local Governing Body in the current or past year (2016/17) but have now retired from their roles:


Martin Head, Foundation

Date appointed: 1.9.2016 (new term)     Resigned November 2017

Declared interests: None                        Attendance in 2016/17: 5/5


Rev Peter Vivash, Ex Officio

Date appointed 1.9.2015                Term of office ended November 2016

Declared Interests  None                 Attendance   1/2


Mary Elliott, Foundation 

Date appointed 1.9.2015                Term of office ended November 2016

Declared interests  None                 Attendance   0/2


Mo Vivash, Foundation

Date appointed 1.9.2015                Term of office ended November 2016

Declared interests   None                 Attendance   0/2

Louise Thwaites, Staff

Date appointed 1.9.2016                 Term of office ended 31.8.2017

Declared interests   None                  Attendance   4/5


Terri Eyre Co-opted member - attended extraordinary LGB on 9.2.17 and served on Staffing committee from November 2016 until the end of July 2017.



All LGB members can be contacted via the school office or main school email address.


Committees and Working Parties



  • Finance, Buildings & Grounds Committee (FBG)
  • Pupil Progress, Curriculum and Communications Committee (PP, C&C)
  • Appraisal
  • Staffing
  • Pupil Admissions

 Other working parties may be put in place as and when required.